The Sower is A Woman

The Parable of The Sower

About one year ago, I presented in this blog my new series called “Biblescapes”, inspired by stories and parables from the Bible, and painted in the style of my Fantascapes. It was originally an idea from a church man from the Lake district in the UK, who contacted me asking if I could so such a work. As an example, he gave me “The Parable of The Sower”.

As you can in my first post about the Biblescapes, I did not start with this parable, but eventually, leaded like always by fate and associations chains, I came to  paint The Parable of The Sower. Really, that man knew what he was speaking about, as that painting has become a big hit. Many prints have been purchased already, and the painting has often been shown at several occasions in different parts of the world.  The most relevant to me so far being perhaps  the one purchased by a church congregation in the USA,  as a farewell gift  to one of their retiring female pastors, Here is a photo of teh Farewell ceremony, with my painting standing on the easel.

The Parable of The Sower... a Farewell gift

For some reason, this painting seem to speak wonderful words to people. 2 days ago I was again contacted by a woman, who sent me a wonderful email

“Dear Miki,
Your painting on the parable of the sower is exquisite in its movement and color.  I am a teacher of the parables and your image depicts the extravagance of the sower so beautifully.  I plan to show this image to my students and would love to include some of your own thoughts on the painting.  Would you be willing to write back to me and share some of your ideas about the work?
Thank you and be well,”

I must say that I am very pleased that my painting will be used for educational purposes. I answered

“…  I thought that in my painting, the Sower should be a woman… I don’t know exactly why.. perhaps because The Sower is always depicted as a man, and I cannot see why. Perhaps also because I feel that sowing the right seeds in the right place and in the right moment is a deeply feminine ability… but as I said, I did not think very much about it.
As to the movement in the painting, well, you will find it in all of my paintings: For me life IS movement.. everything I paint moves, even houses or coffee mugs!
As to the colours, also all my paintings are rich in colours… I just need them!, they are for me THE LIGHT OF LIFE… “

By the way, for those who know the place: the background of the painting is based on a stylised sketch of Turre (Provincia de Almeria, Spain)!

This artwork is available directly online as Giclee print in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting cards. Just click on the widget below to access my FAA Gallery

Sell Art Online

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

