Painting Lanzarote 02: Puerto del Carmen

Puerto del Carmen is located on the south-east side of Lanzarote and is among the most important tourist spots on the island. We visited it on different occasions during our 3 weeks stay in Lanzarote. The first time, we had the great -and exhausting! – idea to walk there, starting at our hotel in Arrecife. A combination of beautiful sea promenades and coastal paths wound their way from the capital to our destination, but, oh! it was a long walk! – partly circumnavigating the airport boundary with the excitement of having planes landing and taking off just above our heads. This gave me the opportunity of making a good play on words: seeing so many planes from the UK travel company Thomas Cook continuously landing, one after the other, and thinking of their advertising campaign with the great slogan:

“Don’t just book it, Thomas Cook it!”

I said:

“They obviously overcooked it!”

Anyway, as we eventually reached Puerto del Carmen, I was so tired that I could not do anything else other than consume loads of drinks and food! I could not do one sketch… a very frustrating experience considering that I had gone there to paint.. .. well, at least it had been a healthy day, except for my whole body aching and the headache due to the strong winds we had to fight against.

But we spent the final week of our trip in an hotel from Puerto Carmen, and I had enough occasions to paint then.

Being one of the most important tourist resorts of Lanzarote, I was not expecting too much of the place as I am normally not fond of tourist traffic. But I did love it there, it was something of a revelation to me, there was a wonderful atmosphere, everybody seemed so happy and all restaurants, cafes and shops looked extremely welcoming.

I found the harbour quite attractive and inspiring, and did some sketches there. I especially loved the contrast between the white buildings in the background and the bold coloured boats.

As usual, the sketches have been drawn with an ink pen on the site, and I added the colours later on at the hotel. Most of the time from memory, which might explain why the colours are not especially faithful to reality. They are rather a reflection of my good moods !

These paintings, as well as many others of Lanzarote, are available directly online as Giclee print in many different dimensions, on paper, canvas and metal, and also as greeting cards. Please click on the button below to access my

FAA store

 

The Giclee prints from the above mentioned Online shop are manufactured in the USA and sent directly to the client from there. For personal or financial reasons it might not be appropriate for everybody to order their prints in the USA. Also, you might prefer to purchase my Giclee prints hand-signed. If so, you can alternatively order directly from me. Simply contact me indicating in which size. Go to

Goodaboom Boutique

to see a guideline of pricing for different dimensions.

I also sell A3 posters (297mm x 420mm) as high quality digital prints on a Heavyweight White 350gsm paper, each packed in cello with card stiffener.

Poster Price: 50 euros.

They are a great alternative to the Giclee prints, to a more affordable price.

(the price does not include packing&shipping)

[/framed_box]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

