Happy Valentine’s Day 04: Love Explosion

“Love Explosion”

A Painting to celebrate Valentine’s Day

Thinking one cannot begin too soon to celebrate love, I recently started a series of blog posts featuring paintings created especially for Valentine’s Day. The last one I presented in this blog was

“A Frog in Love”

Today I am happy to present to you

“Love Explosion”

To be honest, this painting was never meant to be a painting! In fact, I had just received some painting materials ordered from Germany for my next painting trip in February 2013. Among other things, there was a beautiful box of big Chinese watercolour trays and some project paper blocks in square format. The paper is probably better suitable to be used with dry techniques, but I wanted to see how it reacted to watercolour. When I go on a painting trip, especially when I go by plane, I prefer to travel light, I don’t fancy carrying big and heavy watercolour blocks with me , my travel artwork being mostly sketch and drawing in ink with a little bit of watercolours. Sometimes, drawing paper allows me to reach interesting unusual effects. So there I was yesterday, putting some Chinese red stains on the paper, and I liked it at once, not only the paint itself – more vivid than normal watercolour – but also the way the paints interacted with the paper, without seeping into it much though. Better not to take much water on the brushes, but when one knows, great! I then tried Chinese yellow, then Chinese green, and soon, convinced that the new material was good, I stopped.

Some hours later my partner Kev Moore, who had given me the paints as a Christmas gift, asked me how they were and I showed him my piece of paper with the stains. He said:

“Oh, this is very beautiful!”

I was surprised, but then I started looking at the paper and the colour with new eyes, and suddenly flowers, hearts and birds appeared on the paper. I then spent some minutes to enhance the stains a little bit, and soon it was there, this explosion of love. I must say I am quite happy with it…

This painting, and also other paintings to celebrate Valentine’s Day, are available directly online as Giclee print in many different dimensions, on paper, canvas and metal, and also as greeting cards. Please click on the button below to access

my FAA store

 

Sell Art Online

The Giclee prints from the above mentioned Online shop are manufactured in the USA and sent directly to the client from there. For personal or financial reasons it might not be appropriate for everybody to order their prints in the USA. Also, you might prefer to purchase my Giclee prints hand-signed. If so, you can alternatively order directly from me. Simply contact me indicating in which size. Go to

Goodaboom Boutique

to see a guideline of pricing for different dimensions.

I also sell A3 posters (297mm x 420mm) as high quality digital prints on a Heavyweight White 350gsm paper, each packed in cello with card stiffener.

Poster Price: 50 euros.

They are a great alternative to the Giclee prints, to a more affordable price.

(the price does not include packing&shipping)

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

