Aquarelle: once you catch it…

My new painter friend Susan -just have a look at her site, I added it to my blogroll, she is a wonderful painter! – left a comment to the last water colour painting I presented here some days ago:

“Your handling of watercolor is pure poetry!”

Saying that, she really describes the feeling I have when I paint with water colour. I don´t mean the feeling about my own work – I wouldn´t dare judge it, good or bad, it´s not my job, I think!-, I mean the feeling which invades my soul and even my body . The way how water, paper, brush and colour interact is REALLY poetry!
And I don´t even mean the finished painting itself, but so much more the process of painting water colour.
Because, as for poetry itself:
“It is like grasping at the wind – once you catch it, it’s no longer wind …”

When somebody asks me which techniques I prefer -and I am often asked, people like to know that about a painter somehow!-, I always answer:
“Aquarelle!”
Allow me please to use this word. This is the word we use in France for water colour, and I find it so adequate, so poetic too! Except that some years ago a company came out with a new natural source water, which they called “Aquarel”, and which for my taste does´nt taste at all natural, and surely not like poetry!!!!-. And now when I say aquarelle, I always have this unpleasant taste in my mouth…
Anyway: I love painting aquarelle,
yes it´s poetry,
it´s pureness,
it´s dream,
it´s flying
it´s reaching the sky
it´s reaching the sun..
… and it´s burning to ashes if you do it wrong!!! Nothing uglier than a spoiled Aquarelle!!! (Luckily you have water to hand to douse the flames!)

Purpel Dawn Watercolor

You can see my -so far- published collection of :Times of The Day”, watercolour and gouache paintings featuring the different times of the day )dawn, early morning, midday, afternoon, etc…) in my FFA Gallery clicking on this link.

If you are interested, You can buy there directly on line, prints of these paintings in many different sizes, on different kind of papers or canvas, or as greeting cards. Just click on the widget

below

Art Prints

3 Responses to “Aquarelle: once you catch it…”

  1. Susan Cornelis Says:

    Oh My! I just love your dream structures on the horizon. So much expression with so few paint strokes. I guess we have a mutual admiration club going.

  2. iondanu Says:

    Yes, your aquarelles are poetry… no doubt. I like a lot also your golden dog even if than one is probably some mixte techniques…

    You know what I do with my failed watercolors? Of course you did it also: I paint them over in acrylics, I do a mixt techniques…

  3. Goodaboom Says:

    No, I never do so with failed watercolours… I just don´t want to see them anymore and tear them into pieces! And sometimes, when I am very lucky, one of the pieces look great as miniature…


Leave a Reply

