The Leaving

The Leaving

As Kevin saw this picture which I finished this afternoon, he immediately saw a story within it, and wrote the following poem..

The Leaving

It’s done.
Less years ahead alone
Than behind together
Safely clear of storms
No more heavy weather

He stands in silence
Facing the tree his Father planted
His roots, too, are deep
Always doing what his Father wanted

Him. Resolute. Immovable.
No apologies to send me on my way
No remorse or comforting words
To lighten my load this day

He is not wrong.
He never is
Ten years to the day
Since our last kiss
Which now hangs bitter
On my lips
Like rotten fruit upon the bough
Of that damned tree
The tree that seems to outlast me, now.

My Ears don’t lie
I hear her
The rustle of her robes
As from the house she flies
Oh daughter! Do not make me turn around
I cannot bear this awful sound
Her wailing,
Kept in time by hurried footsteps on the ground

“Mother please! Return!” Her plaintive cry…
“Do not despair, for true love never dies!”
Oh, the innocence of youth!
For true love never touched on him
Nor I.

Kev Moore 20/01/08

7 Responses to “The Leaving”

  1. leafless Says:

    The painting looks very nice. You have some real talent here.

  2. Susan Cornelis Says:

    The two of you are so soul-connected, I’ve never seen anything like it. You paint his feelings and he writes yours that you only held the seed to. ANd then it starts all over again. I find my self being very curious about your process Miki, if you would share it. Painting, photos, digital filters? It feels like walking into the depths of the dream mind.

  3. Miki Says:

    Thank you Susan… you are so right… but you know, when he wrote the music for your film, he was deeply connected to you too, in this instant, he really felt your art, and this is the reason why the music fits so well… he has an extraordinary ability to feel home with his words and music, in some other artist´s worlds…
    As he saw this picture, he said, at once:
    “I have a poem for it…”
    and he wrote it down. Without hesitating one second. As if the words were already saved somewhere in his memory and he just needed to push the button “print”.
    It was the same with your film. He saw it, he listened to you, and the music was instantaneously there in his head… or his fingers?or his memory? who knows? He doesn´t know, this is for certain!
    The creation process of my last pictures could be called mixed tecniques, but not in the classical way. Perhaps the word “collage” would be more appropriate. Collage between the real world and the cyber world. Paintings, photos, digital filters, yes, all these things can be involved. I had the idea just 2 or 3 weeks ago, and at the moment I have a big pleasure doing this kind of things!

  4. lbtowers Says:

    This is beautiful Miki, and I also love the way you and Kev work together.

    By the way, do you paint every day????

  5. Susan Says:

    I can see why you enjoy this process so much. You have a direct open window to the imaginal world where there is so much power available to you. Not sure that’s the word you will relate to- power- it’s not something that’s easy to talk about, but I sense it. Energy is a better word perhaps. The energy comes from creating like this, whether or not you put words or explanations on it. I LOVE what you said about Kev composing the music for my video too. You are both like Alice stepping through the Looking Glass and exploring a world where you never know what is around the corner and you like it that way! Most people, artists and not artists, are too afraid to step into that world. I’m glad you do, and I’ll follow you there any day.

  6. Miki Says:

    No, Lisa, I don’t paint everyday, I have much more important things to do like:
    READING YOUR BLOG

  7. Miki Says:

    What a wonderful comment, Susan! Nobody understands Kevin and me as deeply as YOU do, it is so amazing…


Leave a Reply

