Laptop with Sunscreen?

Today, in our favourite cafe by the beach, I saw for the first time since we have been going there, 2 young Spanish boys. You know this is the problem with living in Spain by the sunny coast, most of the people are either tourists, old, or both! And the ones who are not, the Spaniards, you never see them because they are working for the tourists, and anyway they generally avoid the sunny cafe terraces, preferring the shade.

These two boys were sitting there today, with a laptop. The first laptop I saw there, too, and I kind of liked it, yes, I love computers, everywhere! It was just so funny watching the two boys as they tried for a long time to view the screen, first with the computer buttons, then shading it with the hands, even using the café menu as a sun shade, but all to no avail: they couldn´t see anything on the screen, except their own reflection! A sunny cafe terrace in Spain is not the place to work on a computer! It´s much more suited to doing crosswords or smoking a cigarette!

Boy with laptop

Man doing crosswords

Cigarette Girl
9 Responses to “Laptop with Sunscreen?”

  1. madmilker Says:

    nice! vibrant color and the direction of light slowly laying off to one side and around the edges!
    a little touch of Cassatt….through and through.

  2. wrjones Says:

    Great sketches. Stop smoking.

    Love, Mom

  3. 100swallows Says:

    Nice drawings, Miki. Funny to see how the other half lives in Spain. Don’t leave that laptop out in the sun for long or you will understand what they mean by liquid screen.

  4. innovatel Says:

    Nice work! I have a though … the laptop on the cooffe is not a good idea … one minute of break is better 🙂

    Bye miki 🙂

  5. Miki Says:

    @100swallows
    Thankyou… very funny… but too late, THAT laptop has already a liquid screen, can´t you see the waves on it? The wonder of watercolour technique…

    @innovatel
    I understand your worry, but I love to have my cafe au lait very close to my laptop… one day,I know it, and as the result of my wild typing, something awful will happen!
    Ciao Ragazzo 🙂

  6. Susan Cornelis Says:

    Your sketches could be of Miami Beach! I mean the look of the tourists. THey don’t look like they get much exercise on this Spanish beach. I particularly like the boobs and the bald head.

    My first thought when I saw the two boys and the face on the screen was that you’d drawn Kev’s face on the screen, because after all, he’s the only male face you really look at, hm?

  7. Miki Says:

    This is for sure, Susan, Kevin is the only male face I really look at!!!
    Some of the tourists don´t get much exercise on that beach, but these are only the ones who sit in that cafe eating Donuts all the time, like WE do… and the ones who move, well, I simply can´t catch them with my pen! I have to practice a little bit more and then you might get a chance to see them too, here in my blog…

  8. innovatel Says:

    @Miki -> I work all day on pc (I’m a developer) … and when it’s possible I ignore it … after many time with it … it’s instinct 🙂

    Bye bye … Ciao ragazza 🙂

  9. Susan Cornelis Says:

    Of course Miki! Now i understand why you sketch the plump ones, because they sit still! I’ve been wondering about Spanish donuts and if they’re like American ones, deep fried dough with lots of sugar and a hole in the middle?


Leave a Reply

