Crosses everywhere, like bad herbs

This is another sketch from the lovely village of Gatova, you remember, the one with a curve for each day of the year?

What is striking in Spain, is the quantity of crosses you see everywhere. It is almost as if they were growing naturally from the ground… like bad herbs, I would say, if I were not scared of the Inquisition…

Crosses everywhere:

on top of the churches, from which there are, in Spain, as many as souls, it seems to me…

on top of hills, of roofs, of bars, of nuns.., and even crosses on top of crosses!

in the depths of canyons, of glasses of Rioja, of bad consciences…

on the sides of the roads, where people have had accidents, and these are so many, I don’t know why, perhaps because people here don’t mind driving drunk…

and in the middle of some gardens, like here in Gatova… I saw this cross, and I have no idea where it really took its roots, and in fact it does not matter, it is just a part of the natural order of things!

Read more about our trip in Cafe Crem:

In Camera in Absentis, Part 1

In Camera in Absentis, Part 2

In Camera in Absentis, Part 3

13 Responses to “Crosses everywhere, like bad herbs”

  1. thebayattic Says:

    Love these watercolours Miki and your “One Everything for Everyday of the Year”. Great reading on Cafe Crem – what fantastic adventures you both share !

  2. travelnooks Says:

    Great use of colors there! My friend said something about crosses everywhere in some areas there too.

  3. Michael Says:

    The cross in this painting represent for me {hope}.
    I don’t know why yet.
    The continuity between Kevin’s story and photos in Cafe Cream tied to the paintings here is a delight for me.
    I can’t wait for tomorrow, but I have today to savor and to reflect and for that I am grateful to you Miki.

  4. dovelove Says:

    Wonderful pic, as usual…

    “if I were not scared of the Inquisition…”

    Yep 🙂 … “bad herbs,” indeed.

    Our society, it does love it’s suffering…

    “No pain, no gain.”

    “Know how sublime a thing it is to suffer and be strong.” ~ Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

    “Suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope (Romans 5:3-4).”

    =========================================

    With such a symbol being so powerful in this world (its power comes from our focus upon, and adoration of, it), so prolific, it’s no wonder that we create so very much suffering in this world. When we focus on suffering, we create/manifest “hell.” (Heaven is peace.) “Sin” is merely anything that brings suffering (“hell”) upon us — or anyone else (same thing). When ya’ think of it this way, focusing upon the suffering of Jesus is actually a “sin.” 🙂 It’s all so highly contradictory, ain’t it? 😉

    I like these quotes…

    “Suffering is not good for the soul, unless it teaches you to stop suffering.” ~ Jane Roberts

    “You get what you concentrate upon… there is no other main rule.” ~ Jane Roberts

    “You create your own reality.” ~ Jane Roberts

    Peace,
    Dove

  5. givethemhell Says:

    Bonsoir Miki,

    merci de la visite et le commentaire sur mon blog.
    Elle est très jolie, cette painture. J’aime beaucoup ces pastels qui évoquent l’ambiance d’Éspagne.

    Bonne soirée,
    Eva

  6. Miki Says:

    @Givethemhell
    Bonjour Eva! et merci beaucoup pour ton gentil commentaire. Tu Habites en France et tu connais l’ Espagne?

    @Dovelove
    Hi. so happy to read you again! Like always I enjoyed so much your comment! Do much insight, depth and humour at the same time, that works great for me!
    I am surely not myself an adept of suffering, on the contrary! Most of my efforts are concentrated in trying to avoid suffering, and the rest of my efforts in changing what causes me pain!
    I am very happy in my life, and I want to stay happy until the end of my life and even longer!
    Great quotes from Jane Roberts.

  7. marietom Says:

    je suis émerveillée par les couleurs de chacune de tes aquarelles, c’est très beau !

  8. givethemhell Says:

    Bonsoir Miki,

    pour répondre à ta question: J’habite en Allemagne et je connais très peu de l’Éspagne.
    Amitiés, Eva

  9. Miki Says:

    Guten Abend, Eva!
    Ich habe selbst 30 Jahren in Deutschland gelebt … mais je connais l’ Espagne depuis toute petite et cela a été toujours mon rêve d’ y vivre et il y a environ 5 ans j’ ai enfin réalisé mon rêve…
    Merci de répondre a ma question!

  10. Miki Says:

    @Maritom
    Bonsoir, c’est très gentil de me laisser ce beau commentaire! Et quel plaisir de lire un nouveau commentaire en français… je commence a me sentir chez moi maintenant dans mon blog! 🙂

  11. givethemhell Says:

    Merci pour la réponse, Miki.

    J’habitais en France comme enfant, et je veux y retourner le plustôt possible pour réaliser mon rêve, comme toi. Mon endroit préféré c’est la Provence dans le Midi de la France.
    Je te souhaite un jouyeux vendredi, Eva

  12. Wrong Anatomy of a Church? « Infinity + some + 2 Says:

    […] is another sketch of Gatova, but I won’t fool you, the white cross is the same cross as in the other painting… with a view of the village on the other side! But strangely, in that village, there was no […]

  13. Tomas Says:

    Wow, you gift us the light – you pictures open the door into the wonderland. I see your colors in every step of my daily walk – that is just awesome. Thank you


Leave a Reply

