Portugal in The box #2

Saturday 31th may 2008

Antequera – Castro Marim

Early start this morning… well, when I say start, I don´t mean with motor and wheels, I just mean: me not able to sleep enough, too excited by the trip. Kevin, although being a wild rocker on stage, has a far quieter nature than me in everyday life, and nothing can really alter his pleasure to stay longer in bed in the morning…
A lovely day had broken upon Antequera, and after some painting and music exercise, we decided to enter the town in the Boomobile, with the laptop on my knees, ready to catch for free any wireless access to the internet. Needless to say that we totally forgot that even if we had a chance to ride on the back of someone else’s signal, it would have been totally impossible to park our monster at that spot. The result being that we got caught ourselves in the busy Saturday morning traffic of a typical little Spanish town, meaning: much too narrow streets and the permanent danger of getting stuck . We rapidly forgot the internet and escaped from the town centre, without damaging too much ours and other, vehicles.

We rejoined the highway to Seville, a beautiful road amongst immense sprawling olive groves.. This always has been Andalucia for me: endless olive tree plantations, cute white fincas in the middle, baby blue sky and reddened earth. Just a pity that I couldn,t see a bull somewhere, but they normally don´t frequent these trees…

Since we left Turre yesterday the whole way had been marked by a series of places where I suddenly shout:
„I played golf here!“
Not such a long time ago, before human love invaded my life, I was crazy for golf and I spent a lot of time on golf courses, travelling from one to the other, always towards the sun
As we finally crossed the Rio Tinto, late afternoon, by Huelva, I told Kevin how I played there, about 10 years ago, in the middle of the copper mines. This was the first golf club in Spain and it had been created by Brits, working in the copper mines. I was there with my Belgian golf friend Rita. We were told that, in the whole history of the Club, no women had ever played this course before, but we were made very welcome.
When we bought the green fee, we each got 3 yellow balls and a little green carpet. As we saw the course for the first time we understood the reason: there was no green to see on the fairways, and even the greens tended to disappear under the copper. The yellow balls were the best to be seen, and the green carpet the only way to have something flat underneath the ball to hit it.. On the course there was no signing and so it happened, that my crazy friend Rita, not quite the best organised golf player in the world, tended to hit the ball against the stream… after a while we noticed that a four by four was following us and always drove to recuperate Ritas balls flying all over the forbidden places. A great service, really!
I guess Rita gave that day a great demonstration of womens golf, and I am sure that today, 10 years later, they have not forgotten us there… how ashamed we were! But what a laugh too!

Anyway I was quite emotional and a little bit sad as we crossed the Rio Tinto, remembering all these great moments I spent on European golf courses. I wish I could convince Kevin to give it a go… but well, one can´t have everything, and 99% of the time I really feel that I have got everything!

We decided to spend this second night in Portugal and crossed the border on the Europa Bridge. Kevin noticed, a little bit worried, that the rivers around here are full of water.
„It is nice!“ I said, generally missing real rivers in Spain.
„Yes, but doesn´t that mean that it rains a lot here?“

Well, we will see. We have stopped for the night in a little village called Castro Marim, just across the border. It looks quite promising here and we will explore it tomorrow morming.
But for now, back to my paintings!

10 Responses to “Portugal in The box #2”

  1. reinedespommes Says:

    Each time I come here, I am amazed ! so lovely your pictures !
    This one is magic !
    Kiss

  2. Daud Says:

    Thanks for sharing your journey throughout every stage in words and pictures.

  3. wrjones Says:

    Great golf story. What did you shoot?

  4. helenl Says:

    There Is a Pot That Looks Like Pig

    Sun. Sky. Rain. Shadow.

    There is a cloud on the picture’s
    left. On the right,
    bright sky. Houses at odd angles. Central.

    To the picture. In Portugal. Carnival-town
    is falling down,
    as from a child’s whirligig. Red and white,
    the houses go. Tumble, tumble. Fro

    and to. I’m giddy too, when first I see
    that there is a pot that looks like a pig
    on the front walkway, beside palm trees,

    that a yellow animal—pointed ears, pointed
    nose, tail a line—closely follows.

    also posted on my blog

  5. Susan Says:

    I love this style of painting and i can see you’re having fun with it. You must of course keep breaking the conventions of painting. And best of all is the white cat!

  6. Portugal in The Box, The Sketches - #2 « Infinity + some + 2 Says:

    […] Miki, Portugal painting, Portugal paintings, watercolour travel sketches Read here the corresponding travel […]

  7. Portugal in The Box, The Sketches - #6 « Infinity + some + 2 Says:

    […] Portugal painting, Portugal paintings, watercolour travel sketches Read here the corresponding travel […]

  8. Portugal in The Box, The Sketches - #5 « Infinity + some + 2 Says:

    […] Portugal paintings, watercolour paintings, watercolour travel sketches Read here the corresponding travel […]

  9. Portugal in The Box, The Sketches - #3 « Infinity + some + 2 Says:

    […] Portugal paintings, watercolour paintings, watercolour travel sketches Read here the corresponding travel […]


Leave a Reply

