Portugal in The box #3

Sunday 1st June 2008

Castro Marim -Tavira

Castro Marim - by Miki

I guessed that some brilliant sunshine lay behind the closed curtains of the Boomobile. Impatient to start the day, I asked Kevin, still lying in bed:
„Do you want me to tell you how is the weather today?”
And without waiting for his answer I opened the curtain and screamed:
„The sky is WOW-blue!”
This worked WOW-wonders: Kevin jumped out of the bed,… yes, he really jumped!

Soon after I was sitting outside to sketch a church on the hill, as I saw some groups of women passing by, all of them carrying flowers in vases. I needed a certain time to get it, but then I jumped up, ran into the Boomobile and shouted:
„Come fast, Kevin, we must go now!”
Kevin blanched:
„But, Baby, I am still having my breakfast…”
„Who cares, they are having a mass at the temple!”
Yesterday evening we had gone for a walk around the village and seen an extremely strange construction, which looked like a temple, or more exactly like many temples all over the place, full of blue and white columns, obelisks, tables, benches, and depictions of Stars of David. We had no idea what it was, but we thought it should be some kind of open air temple complex for Jewish religious celebrations .
And as I saw these women that morning with their vases in their hands, it was clear for me that they were going to the Sunday temple mass.
I left Kevin with his boring cereal and ran to the temple. Nobody was there. But a little bit further along I saw a cemetery, and well, it was clear which kind of cult they were celebrating….
Back to the motorhome and Kevin looked up, and through a mouthful of cereal asked:
„So what?”
„Nothing.” I replied.
„Didn’t you know the Jewish sabbath is on Saturday anyway?”
I resisted tipping the creal over his head and tried to finish my church drawing, but soon 3 young boys appeared. I had noticed them coming from the other side of the road, but I acted as if I hadn’t seen them, hoping they would leave me alone. But they came very close to me and started to walk in a circle around me, again and again, until I got stressed and said:
„Bom Dia!:
The most courageous stopped, left the circle and approached me, looking at my drawing, followed by his fellow circumnavigators. I was waiting for any reaction to the drawing, but nothing came and finally I asked them,:
„Bem?”
They nodded, all three. One of them asked if the liquid in my cup was water (why the question?), and I said something about „cafe com leite”. Then I asked them what I was drawing, curious to see if they recognised the church, as I was just experimenting with a new deformation style!. They didn’t doubt for one second, pointed at the church and said:
„Sao Antonio!”
Great, I thought, what an artist I am! And I was quite proud too, the whole conversation having happened in Portuguese, a language from which I learnt some words when my parents were living in Brazil about 30 years ago…

Castro Marim - by Miki

Eventually Kevin had demolished his breakfast and we walked up to the castle, an enormous brown construction on the hill, and then to the other, another enormous construction, a yellow one, on another hill. Quite fascinating all this old stuff, but please, don´t ask me details about it, I am a total dunce in history, always finding it difficult to get some interest in the past. Even in my own past!

In the afternoon we then drove to the next city by the sea, got stuck in an awful traffic jam which must have to do with some religious celebration, with policemen everywhere trying to direct old portuguese sunday drivers in directions they did not want to go and causing immense chaos.

We finally arrived in Tavira, where we are now, and where we will spend the night. We already had a long walk through the town, which, says Kevin, exactly looks like Curacao. In fact we were searching again for an internet cafe, which we again did not find. But we did find an English pub, where everybody was helpful in assisting us to find an internet place, as well the pub owner.
„Under the arches, by the newspaper seller, who looks like he hasn’t cracked a smile in 50 years!
And an obviously totally pissed guy:
Do you know where the Novotel is? No? Easy though, it’s the f#cking highest hotel here, They have internet now!”
In which ever southern land you are, Spain, Greece or Portugal, here they are too, these stranded strangers, totally devoted to alcohol…

All these paintings are available directly online as Giclee prints in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting cards. Just click on the widgets below to access my FAA store

Sell Art Online

Sell Art Online

And more generally you can see all this stuff I paint by going to my gallery “Miki’s Enchanted World”

7 Responses to “Portugal in The box #3”

  1. bobcornelis Says:

    Miki

    Happy to be joining the blogophiles out there. I feel like I already know many of you! But now I’ll try to be more directly involved.

    Loved your crazy morning – are they all like that?

    I’ve been admiring your “deformation” paintings for some time. Much more interesting than that old traditional perspective stuff…

  2. Susan Says:

    Oh Miki! I want to try deforming everything now so i can live in this crazy world of yours. I’m glad you’re bringing the cat along too.

  3. Isabelle Says:

    This has such a playful,joyful feel to it! The church is almost dancing! I love how it puts a smile on my face !

  4. Daud Says:

    In my opinion it’s almost like you’d turned the world upside down and then up again spinning the church round the landscape. I love it. Thanks.

  5. Lily Says:

    I absolutely adore your artwork! Your Portugal pictures are wonderful. Do you sell prints anywhere online? I would be happy to point my readers in your direction🙂

  6. Miki Says:

    Thank you, Lily!
    As I was traveling I unfortunately had no possibility to go on publishing the sketches. But some days ago i have started to publish them on my website, day by day. You can follow them there under
    http://www.goodaboom.com/PortugalTravelSKetches2008.html
    I will publish them too in this blog, when I have finished with the texts.
    Some are like that one, other more classical. I am very happy that you enjoyed them. I think we three together (with Kev Moore (my partner, we were together in Portugal, and you already read his Portugal stories in Cafe Crem), we all fell in love with Portugal and are surely the best advertising for it! I just hope not too many people will follow us there, as it is actually a wonderfully homogeneous and harmonious land, all the contrary of Spain which became quite a gray mix of all nationalities…
    It is kind of you to propose to point your readers at me. I normally sell all my original artwork online, take orders online, etc. But i generally never sell prints , although I have been asked many times in the meanwhile and I should perhaps consider it. In the meanwhile you can point your interested readers to the Portugal sketches in Goodaboom.
    Have a nice Sunday!

  7. Portugal in The Box, The Sketches - #3 « Infinity + some + 2 Says:

    […] Miki, Portugal painting, Portugal paintings, watercolour travel sketches Read here the corresponding travel […]


Leave a Reply

