Portugal in The Box, The Sketches – #5

Read here the corresponding travel story



8 Responses to “Portugal in The Box, The Sketches – #5”

  1. reinedespommes Says:

    Que c’est agréable de découvrir le Portugal avec toi🙂 !

  2. Miki Says:

    Bonjour Pomme!
    Et que c’est agréable de te découvrir chaque jour un peu plus!🙂

  3. bobcornelis Says:

    More tumbling houses – I love these! I suspect, as you say, some of these older towns were laid out in such a way that it really does give you that feeling. It really gives the pieces that extra character. Do you find it hard to force yourself to distort this way? I think I would find myself continuously trying to set things right…

  4. Miki Says:

    You are generally right, Bob, with the older towns in Spain and Portugal. But you know, here, it was the contrary: the houses i painted, above all the ones in picture 1 and 3, were totally new!!!
    I don’t know how and why it happened, it did not do it on purpose, these tumbling houses. It just overcame me, really, my hand drew them like that. So in fact the real hard thing was not to distort them, but the contrary. I continuously tried “to set things right” but I continuously distorted. Things like that really simply overcome my hand, and I am helpless against it. I guess it sounds untrue, or “sophisticated”, but it is true. In fact it is very useful because I almost never have to think how to paint things….

    When I try to think why that happened that way in Portugal, I think it might be because my perception of Portugal was one of a kind of “childish nation”. I really perceive a very pure naivety and young creativity (like children, unspoiled by norms of society, art, etc) there, in everything they do. And I guess this is what made my hand wanting to play… because I perceived drawing these tumbling houses as playing and having a lot of childish fun!

  5. Isabelle Says:

    Oh Mikki ! Que c’est beau ces maisons colorées qui dansent ! J’aime beaucoup!

  6. versionscelestes Says:

    Oh beautiful églises!

  7. Tomas Says:

    color explosion! Light overfilled my heart while viewing your Portugal sketches. Your art illuminated my window . So to speak, Mood of your painting perfectly illustrated the best intentions of Tomas‘ sketchbook and reflected the dreams of Art by Tomas


Leave a Reply

