My Cafe Crem Coffee Cups at The Pasty Shack in Turre

I keep repeating it, I know, but I love more and more this little Spanish town called Turre (Provincia de Almeria) where I moved about 6 weeks ago now. I already feel at home here, and even more so since we discovered last week  a wonderful place called “The Pasty Shack”, where we can buy delicious fresh bread, directly from the oven sometimes. Tastes like heaven with butter and Nutella on it (yeah, butter AND Nutella)!

Those who know me, also know how important bread is for me. I normally judge a restaurant by its bread, and a town by its bakeries, and really, I am more than happy that we found that place.

We were too busy preparing my new gallery and Kevin rehearsing for his Saturday night gig in Kimrick, that we had no time to go shopping, especially as there was no cereal left at home for Kevin’s breakfast (yes, this big rocking guy who looks like a Maori warrior does not eat raw meat or drink pints of beer for breakfast, but cereals with hot milk!). So I decided to invite him to a traditional English breakfast at the Pasty Shack instead. It was very busy there, market day, and well, there is nothing nicer than a cosy shack when it rains outside, but we still got a good table.

I could not believe it as I then watched Kevin eating beans and eggs and bacon and sausages at 11 in the morning. In fact the plate looked great, but this is the kind of stuff I would rather eat myself at 11 in the evening! But believe me, he did it with the best appetite and a big smile on his face. I had myself a big very tasty cheddar baguette, and also a big smile on my face!

This afternoon,  just before they closed, we went back there and hung three of my Coffee Cups paintings which I designed especially for Cafe Crem. A tiny little exhibition, but lovely to have my beloved coffee cups in this warm and appetitive atmosphere.

So everybody, if you want to admire my paintings and have a great breakfast -the hot chocolate with cream is delicious too!- don’t think twice and just come to Turre! You will be welcome, and the rain will stop soon, this is for sure… But if you doubt, just have a look at the Pasty Shack Cybercafe

13 Responses to “My Cafe Crem Coffee Cups at The Pasty Shack in Turre”

  1. reinedespommes Says:

    Miki, if I go to Turre sometime, it’s to see you, not for the sun or the rain.
    Anyway.
    When I read you, I would like to take a breakfast with you and Kevin at Pasty Shack ! hummm !!!

    I’m so happy to know you’re enjoyed to be here now.

    (please, excuse my english 😉 )

  2. Miki Says:

    I love your English, Apple Queen, it is as delicieux as the food in The Pasty Shack!
    And yes, when you’ll come to Turre one day, we will all go there and have a monster breakfast under the rain!
    Bisous!

  3. shelleymhouse Says:

    Yay for coffee cups!! These look great, Miki 🙂 I am just trying to think if I have family who visits that part of Spain, to let them know about your breakfast place.

  4. shelleymhouse Says:

    And to see your art!!

  5. Susan Cornelis Says:

    I think this coffee shop is extraordinarily lucky to have snagged you and your coffee cups! Wish I could stop by to eat and drink and sketch with you there!

  6. ivdanu Says:

    You’ll make me gain again the lost pounds (6 in 2 months)! Your post gave me not only a great hunger but also the desire to come – sometime – to Turre!

  7. napabelle Says:

    Butter AND Nutela ???? Hang in there, I’ll be right over ! Your paintings are perfect and colorful against the yellow wall!! Fun Fun !

  8. psychscribe Says:

    Hi Miki! As you know, I’ve been out of the loop for a while. So I look up my old friend on her blog and I see that you’ve moved. I am so jealous! I lived in Bologna Italy for 6 years and loved it- sounds like you’re living the same lifestyle. I also am extremely partial to breads and pastries. Please eat one with whipped cream in it for me 🙂 Hugs, Psych

  9. Miki Says:

    Hi Psyche!
    What a wonderful surprise to read you again! Kevin will surely agree to eat tones of pastries with whipped cream for you, and I will eat the bread!

  10. 2 Little Bakers… « Infinity + some + 2 Says:

    […] especially for our local bakery, “The Pasty shack”, where I already hung some of my Coffee Cups Art 2 weeks ago. I wanted some funny theme connected to bread and pastry, but at the same time it […]

  11. Kim and Dave (la Rocia) Says:

    Hi Miki, Looking forward to visiting you in October. Your paintings are wicked.

  12. Miki Says:

    Hi La Rocia!
    What a surprise and a pleasure to see you here! Kevin and me are also looking forward to your visit in October… and don’t worry, Turre won’t burn any more by then!
    I am just working on my travel sketches, and soon I will arrive at El Rocio, you know, this brother of yours…
    I wonder if you will recognise him 🙂

  13. Bill Bartmann Says:

    Cool site, love the info.


Leave a Reply

