The Power of Daydreaming

Ink & Watercolour

Ink & Watercolour

For about 6 months now I have been in the process of moving.

Moving from one house into the other, from one art gallery into the other.

I hate packing. And believe me, the amount of painting materials and paintings I have is gigantic, so to move only this part of my past life is already a life’s work. This is why I decided to do it gradually, taking it easy. The Housing market in Spain being at a standstill, nobody is rushing to buy my lovely house, so I can take as much time as I need.

The other day I was there, about 260 kilometres north of here, and I wanted to bring back my big new canvasses, which I ordered there before I left last Summer, but unfortunately they are so big that they don’t fit into the car. Frustrated, I decided to bring back some of my older sketch books, and other little things.

Today, a little bit bored and without any energy to start some new stuff, I had a glance at some of them, and found sketches which I of course had totally forgotten. This happens to me all the time by the way: I normally paint so fast and so prolifically that my paintings have no time to get recorded in my memory! Anyway, this is how I found this one. As I saw it, I remembered every detail again. A young girl had posed for me at that time for a fast sketch, and I remember how, a little bit annoyed by the boring position I had started to imagine things around her… and especially the cushions on the armchair, under her bum and behind her back had more and more taken the form of wings which seemed to grow from her body… and I even saw lots of butterflies flying all around her head!

A typical example of what suddenly happens to my brain when I get bored… I see things… bananas things…

some might call it the power of daydreaming!

5 Responses to “The Power of Daydreaming”

  1. Davis Says:

    You’re very talented, both with words and paint. Thanks for the post.

  2. Pomme Says:

    Oh le joli papillon ! et tu sais, les papillons, je les aime beaucoup, comme les oiseaux.
    C’est superbe !

  3. Pomme Says:

    “Créer ce que nous ne verrons jamais, c’est ça la poésie.”

    Je crois que cette citation te va à ravir !

  4. Miki Says:

    @ Pomme
    Tu sais, chaque fois que je lis les commentaires que tu m’écris, ici et la, une grande chaleur envahit mon cœur et je laisse échapper un soupir:
    “Oh Pomme…”
    et Kevin qui est toujours assez près de moi pour entendre tous mes soupirs, me demande:
    “Qu’est ce qu’il y a avec Pomme?”
    Je lui réponds:
    “Elle est si gentille…”
    Si tu savais, Pomme, comme ta gentillesse me touche, toujours…

    @Davis
    Thank you very much for the lovely words.

  5. Susan Cornelis Says:

    THis couch/chair has a hilarious personality. It looks like it’s giving her a full body massage and enjoying it!


Leave a Reply

