Count Down for the Commons People

slim-line-derby-calendar-cover-sI haven’t been around much these last few weeks., but this does not mean that I was doing nothing. One perhaps tends to forget nowadays that there is a creative life in the outside world…  I don’t remember if I mentioned it in this blog, but I have been very busy with a CD design and production.

Not really “any” CD – It is a very special product, called “Fan Fayre for The Commons People” and done especially in honour of Derby County Football Club. In short: Kev Moore re-wrote the lyrics and music of some famous songs, adapting them to the story of DCFC in a very modern and humorous manner. Some of the songs are his owns, all written for and dedicated to, the club, the players and the fans.

Don’t think twice, it is not only a football CD. It is simply a great, funny and powerful collection of songs which as well as football, simply celebrate life. You can’t really listen to it without at once wanting to jump around and sing the hell out of your head, even if you have nothing to do with football or DCFC.

If you are interested in hearing some of the songs which are featured in the CD, please go to Moore Music and browse around or contact me and I will tell you where to find them.

Anyway! It was great to work with Kev on this project, from the very beginning as the idea arose, until the end, the launching of the CD on the market. An exhausting work too, but well, it was worth it.

A piece of artwork I did for this CD, featuring a Ram against a Red Dog and which is included in the “Red Dog Limited  Edition” got so much interest  that I have had the idea for a new project related to the club. I will produce a calendar for the football season 2009/2010, presenting a piece of Art each month  in the style of the “Red Dog” but featuring in an humorous (and impartial way as I am a Derby Fan now!!!) other teams who will have to fight against the Rams (Derby’s Nickname)

Again a hell of a lot of work, but I do love this idea, and if I can make the fans happy with it, then it is worthwhile!

The calendar will exist in 2 formats, like my other calendars. The “Slim Line” and the A3 Line.

Here is the cover for the Slim Line edition.

Some explanations for the outsiders: The figure on the top is The Ram, my symbol of the Derby rams now since Kev has written all the wonderful songs .

The Black&white striped scarf is a  timeless Derby football fan symbol …

mikismart-fan-fayre-special-presentation-02

Red Dog Edition

mikismart-fan-fayre-dcfc-presentation

DCFC Edition

For those who are interested, here is my work on the CD sleeve.

No, my works.

In fact, my works. I had to design 2 sleeves, as DCFC themselves wanted their own design… showing their official logo, and matching their general product lines.

And above all: not showing the Enemy!

4 Responses to “Count Down for the Commons People”

  1. Davis Says:

    a creative life in the outside world? I hadn’t thought of that lately, but you’re right

  2. kevmoore Says:

    This is such a great “follow on’ from the CD project, and, having seen how the pictures inside are shaping up, a delightful and unique one!

  3. Miki Says:

    @ Davis
    Yes, there is, try it! 🙂

    @Kev Moore
    Thanks Kev Moore… YOUR CD REALLY ROCKS!
    The electric guitar solos are impressive, and even more considering that you are a bass player, and not a guitarist!
    I love the drums too…
    You can rest a little bit now, but I can’t wait to hear your next songs, football or not! 🙂

  4. God saves The Queen, but The Queen saves The Swans « Infinity + some + 2 Says:

    […] If you want to see the calendar cover, please look here. […]


Leave a Reply

