Cádiz (Travel Sketches Spain 2009)

01 Cadiz 2009 S

In my previous entry I wrote about my intention to work on my travel sketch series Summer 2009 and to publish them. However I was interrupted by an awful event which took place in our town and all around, one day after our arrival: a huge fire went all over the places, over an extend of more than 10 kilometres, and we really thought we would lose everything we have, including, of course, all my paintings!

But the wind blew the fire away in another direction and we lost nothing, except, perhaps, the wonderful feeling of being safe at home  🙂 !

But really, what a trauma to assist to such a fire, one deeply realises how powerless we are against Nature…

So, after all these emotions, I am trying to come back to work now. After the short stop in Gibtaltar, we spent our first days in Cadiz, Andalucia, on the Atlantic South Coast of Spain. I knew Cadiz already, but to rediscover it with Kevin was wonderful and we both fell in love with that town. Great architecture, great atmosphere, great beaches, great street cafes, great people… one told us later though, that sometimes el viento de Levante (the Levante Wind) blows there for a long time and makes people get crazy… I am glad that it was not the case as we were there, first because we are already crazy enough, and then because we had parked our Boomobile at the outskirts from the town in front of the sea, and rode everyday bicyvle to the down. I love to ride bicycle, but certainly not against a strong wind!

I made quite a lot of sketches in Cadiz, this is the first of them…

4 Responses to “Cádiz (Travel Sketches Spain 2009)”

  1. ivdanu Says:

    I’m very glad that you excape the fire, Miki and Kevin! That,s the divine Providence at work, isn’t it? Great sketches, too…But who can you be so energetic in the spanish heat! I’m barely moving my arse at 24-26 Celcius!

  2. ivdanu Says:

    Don’t tell me you did not photograph the FIRE! Once I stayerd 3-4 h making sketches of the people LOOKING at a fire! It,s quite frightening but how fascinat pour les hommes qui regardent!

  3. Susan Cornelis Says:

    How terrifying that fire must have been. And yet your sketches are so full of brilliance and fun. CAn’t wait to see more.

  4. Miki Says:

    Hi Danu!
    We did photograph the fire, but in fact one can only see smoke on the photos. Kevin put some on Cafe Crem. And I was much too scared myself to be able to sketch…

    Hi Susan!
    Yes, the fire was terrifying. But the sketches have been done somewhere else in Spain, at a time when I surely didn’t except that Turre would burn when we come back!


Leave a Reply

