Serpa – 2 – (Travel Sketches Portugal 2009)

Some days ago I presented here my first sketches from Serpa, our last stop in Portugal, in July 2009, Here are some more.

One of the most beautiful lanterns I have ever seen in my life. They were all over the town. That dragon must have something to do with the town history, but I have no idea what as I I am not  keen at all on history! The guy going down the staits is an invention of me, no idea who lives in this house!

Serpa 04 2009 S

********

Somehow I can’t help making caricatures of the people. perhaps it is a natural reaction to me being forced to make very accurate, realistic portraits when I paint on commission…

Serpa 06 2009 bis S********

When i put the colours on this ink sketch done outside, i could not help adding the festive decoration in the sky. it reminded me that last year, as we were in Portugal, it was a big feast everywhere we were, all town had this kind of stuff floating in the sky. This time, we didn’t see any… perhaps because it was later in the year… anyway simply a trick to break the vertical composition, I needed this contrast!

Serpa 08 2009 bis S

3 Responses to “Serpa – 2 – (Travel Sketches Portugal 2009)”

  1. bobcornelis Says:

    Miki
    You always create the best tilted paintings! I love the sky in the last one and the additions you made to it. I particularly like the light in the upper left corner. So many opposing angles but it all works beautifully together.

    The dragon lantern is cool, too!

    Someday you’ll have to come to America – I’d love to see your sketches of the USA.

  2. wrjones Says:

    The top sketch with the man coming down the stairs is lovely!

  3. farah bahuri Says:

    hi miki..
    it’s me..farah
    from malaysia
    i love ur painting
    can i add u at FB
    coz i really want follow ur passion
    wonderful…..nice
    i’m love art but don’t have identity for my art
    hope u can share


Leave a Reply

