A dream comes true

Our sauna S

An important part of our life is coming to an end: the construction of our  little house sauna! It has been a dream of mine, ever since I can remember, to have a sauna at home, as it is for me the best way to relax after a work day, after sport, or simply when it becomes a little bit cold…

I hardly waste dreams… by that I mean I am not a real dreamer, not one of these people whose dreams always stay dreams. I always take care to have reasonable dreams, of the sort I know I can realise if I only make the necessary efforts.It took a lot of time to realise this one, 20 years… 10 years ago, I was so far along, almost, but in the last moment I used the room planned for the sauna as an atelier… it was more important I guess!

Well, it is so far NOW. The sauna is ready, we are just missing the stones to put on the oven. It is not easy in Andalucia to find all the stuff you need to run a sauna…  the stones have to be ordered, and if we are lucky, we will get them within one week. We had ordered the other stuff, bucket, ladle, sand clock and thermometer in Germany, and they arrived yesterday evening.

What a fiesta!

Yes, we both have a lot of pleasure with all this stuff, and can hardly wait to use it. This morning I could not resist to make a sketch of the new sauna kit! As you can see, Kevin is even already inside the sauna, sticking his cute tongue out to YOU!

3 Responses to “A dream comes true”

  1. Susan Says:

    Oh, you are too too cute for words! I am so happy for you. It is so good for your health to get in a sauna. We are Californians so we have opted for the hot tub variety of relaxation, and when it’s cool enough (certainly not now!) we get in it every night before bed. This sketch reminds me so much of the ones that pulled me into your blog when I first met you guys – what, two years ago now?

  2. Bob Cornelis Says:

    Very cool (or hot)! Not a sauna guy myself (I guess I sweat enough walking from one end of the house to the other) but I know people who swear by them. I’m sure you’ll get years of use out of them – our hot tub is one of the things we’ve bought that we’ve used more regularly than just about anything else… Enjoy!

    Nice painting by the way! Who is the figure sitting on the left?

  3. Pomme Says:

    Tu as mille fois raison Miki, rêvons le possible et soyons patients !
    Mais dis moi … c’est le sauna qui t’a rétrécie ?
    J’adore ce dessin ! J’ai l’impression d’entendre Kevin t’appeler et toi, tu sembles te préparer à savourer le moment d’aller le rejoindre 🙂


Leave a Reply

