Serpa – 7 – (Travel Sketches Portugal 2009)

Here follow some of my last 2009 Portugal sketches. I arrived to the end eventually, more than happy, with a feeling of being totally saturated and never wanting to paint Portugal again, but also with the satisfying feeling of having completed a big job (more than 100 paintings) with -at least for me!- satisfying results. I generally pay a big attention not to lose the fun when I paint and rarely do something what I don’t fancy, but I also pay attention to finish my works, especially my paintings series. Anything else would leave me with that unpleasant feeling of having failed. Luckily I have quite a stubborn character, I seldom give up.

To be honest I still have some cute ink sketches form that trip, which would be worth some water colouring job, but i had lost them, just found them back. But they are for me like cold coffee, I can’t have them. They will join now the big drawer with all the other, coloured ones, I will put a label on the drawer “Portugal/Spain 2009”, and then never looked at them again I suppose!

I wonder which my next travel sketches will be. It was planned to go to the Provence in September/October, but this is finally cancelled. One big trip seems to be sure for January/February: 5 or 6 weeks visiting New Orleans, Austin, Memphis and Nashville, following the Mississippi. An old dream from Kevin and me, which could come true. And if yes, sure that there will be a lot of inspirations to me as  painter, and to Kevin as a musician.

Serpa 37 2009 S

*********

Serpa 38 2009 S

*********

Serpa 39 2009 S

These art works are available directly on-line as Giclee print in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting card. Just click on the widgets below to access my FAA store

Sell Art Online

Sell Art Online

And more generally you can see what else I paint by going to my gallery “Miki’s Enchanted World”

3 Responses to “Serpa – 7 – (Travel Sketches Portugal 2009)”

  1. kevmoore Says:

    The atmosphere in these is phenomenal. I love all the characters in the Cafe, they are so alive, really lovely stuff!

  2. wrjones Says:

    Beautiful tree!

  3. Susan Cornelis Says:

    And my favorite is the guys with the cigs and the beefy chins. ANd I love all the loose pen marks that suggest subjects without spelling them out.


Leave a Reply

