The Spotted Cat in New Orleans

The Sotted Cat in New Orleans 04 - by Miki

Yesterday I started a series of paintings, called “Music in New Orleans”, based on photos and memories from my stay there, from the 1st until the 12th of February 2010. It was an accident that we arrived  in the time building up to the Mardi Gras festivities, and, even more special, to the Super Bowl Final featuring The Saints from New Orleans against The Colts from Indianapolis. The ones who were in the town during these days know what an exceptional time they have witnessed…

Due to the town itself, and to these special events, we spent an incredible time there, full of extremely emotional moments, with the result that we have now declared the town as our second “home town”. Another important factor was that we were re-acquainted there with a wonderful guy called Ted, whom we had met for the first time last Summer in Sanlucar de Barrameda (Andalucia, Provincia de Cadiz) on our way to Portugal. Ted is originally from New Orleans and is actually spending his life between Sanlucar and New Orleans, As we met him in Sanlucar, we both, Kevin and me, felt that we were on the same wavelength, and it was so touching to meet again in New Orleans.

As he says himself, we are now “friends for ever”.

I have been confronted with New Orleans music in some different ways, in live gigs in bars,  in the street, at the Mardi Gras and the Saints parade. Unfortunately I did not do as many photos and sketches as I should have done, being much too busy enjoying the whole stuff! But well, I will make do with what I have. And anyway the memories are still very alive within me, it should help!

I start the series with 2 paintings from a bar deliciously called “The Spotted Cat”, on Frenchmen Street. This was one of the first places we went to, the very first night in New Orleans,. There was a Jazz band playing there, called “The Jazz Vipers”: they were simply wonderful. I am generally not a jazz fan, but I must say that these guys amazed me, all of them, not only in their instrumental playing, but also in their singing and general attitude. They just sounded and looked TRUE. If we come back to New Orleans one day -and we will do everything we can to make it happen!-, this will be the first band I want to see again, this is for sure!

In my portraits blog you can see a painting of two of the Jazz Vipers. But you know, even when they were not playing, they were extremely artistic: my eye was caught by this wonderful still life in the break…

If you are interested in buying a print of these paintings, you can order them directly online,  on paper or canvas, in many different sizes, also as Greeting cards just click on the widget below

Sell Art Online

Photography Prints

And if you want to see all the stuff I paint, simply enter my Enchanted World

2 Responses to “The Spotted Cat in New Orleans”

  1. Susan Says:

    So nice to have you back Miki! Funny I should say that, since you were “away” visiting my country. I’ve missed seeing your paintings and sketches!

  2. Miki Says:

    Nice to be back too, Susan, although I am right now not that sure about blogging… it such a pain for me to write in English, I already spoke about it.
    Well, what you call “your country” is immense, I don’t know exactly how big exactly, but as big as Europe? I haven’t see all European countries either, and many of them look very exotic to me too! So I guess your feeling is quite normal, there must be in the USA big differences between North and South and East and West and Centre…


Leave a Reply

