Memphis Nights 01

As is said in my last post, I am back in the USA right now… All that time since we were back in March, I could not really find inspiration to paint America. All I had seen there was so different, a really new world to me, which I did not spontaneously associated to art. Which is one of the reasons why I could not paint or sketch as we were there. Also it was damned cold, and I had no chance to sketch outside, except with gloves, but this I don;t like. And the things I would have liked to draw, the musicians in the bars, i could not because it was too dark!

Anyway, these days I had the idea to make some mini series of paintings, New Orleans Nights, Memphis nights… compositions of things I had seen, putting them together in a way which inspires me.

So here we go with the first one. As we were in Memphis, we were so lucky to be able to  attend the International Blues Festival. Some of the artist we saw were in the Rum Boogie Cafe. We really spent a wonderful time there, as well the place as the music and the food were great! God, i really wished we had such kind of places here!

Elvis Presley’s Pink Cadillac, well, i did not actually saw it life, but I saw many miniatures one and posters in souvenirs shops.

And the girl refreshing her make-up, it was a statue in the Peabody Centre!

I mixed all that, said abracadabra, and here it is, my first Memphis Nights painting. To enjoy with humour, it is not meant to be very serious…

Memphis Nights 01 - by Miki

And as usual, this painting is available  as Giclee print, in different sizes and different formats, in my FAA Gallery:

Photography Prints

And don’t forget, Kev Moore‘s CD “Blue Odyssey”, 18 track CD over 75 minutes running time, celebrating our trip around the Music Heartland of America in the early part of 2010.

I made the cover design.

To purchase in Miki’s Mart

Leave a Reply

