Art and Sports 04 – Wintersports

Down The Hill - by Miki

(Watercolour painting)

Once upon a time I was born in the middle of the French Pyrenees. Now, you would think that I was born with skis attached to my feet… but NO! In fact my parents loved the sea and sunshine, and as soon they had some free days from work, they packed the whole family into the car, crossed the border and drove down the Spanish Mediterranean coast so far that people there had never seen rain or snow in their life!

It was not until I was 20 years old that I stood on skis. I immediately loved it! What a pity, I thought, so many years wasted by the sea instead of the mountains!  I was anyway in love with snow itself, and skiing was such fun, even the falling down was fun, especially on the fresh soft snow! At that time I had already moved to Germany to be with my boyfriend who was a ski instructor. In the winter he took me to Austria, to Obertauern to be exact, and put me on skis. With that private teacher, and me loving it, I learnt fast and soon I was able to go down some steep hills. Most of the time on my bottom though, or even in the air, especially after a glass of Slibovitz (the local and among skiers, most praised Schnapps) but really:

WHAT FUN!

Later on I also went skiing to the Dolomites in Italy, in Switzerland, In Germany and eventually in my beloved French Pyrenees. And now I wonder if one day I will be able to go and ski in the Sierra Nevada… we live so close! But I guess, the probability I will ski in the Rocky Mountains is bigger.. the Don Quijote Syndrome!

I did the painting above many years ago, as I had started a watercolour sports series.

Ski Jumping 03 - by Miki

This week I went back to the snow and tried the technique I used for my Tour de France series, a mix of pastel and digital art. I am quite happy with the result, the theme of winter sports works well in that technique.

Snowboarding 01 – by Miki

As I was young, I loved to skateboard. And I am sure I would have loved snowboarding the same. Will I ever try? It is certainly not too late…

All these paintings are available directly online as Giclee prints in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting cards. Juts click on the widgets below to access my FAA store

Sell Art Online
Art Prints

Sell Art Online

And more generally you can see all this stuff I paint by going to my gallery “Miki’s Enchanted World”

One Response to “Art and Sports 04 – Wintersports”

  1. Art and Sports 06 – More Wintersports « Infinity + some + 2 Says:

    […] other day I made a first post about winter sports in my art, saying also I would do some more works these days and present them here. So here they […]


Leave a Reply

