Art and Sports 07 – Rugby

NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW

www.mikidegoodaboom.com

NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW…NEW

Rugby 01 – by Miki

Like most people, I regularly call my parents, and they always ask me what I am painting right now. Last week I told them that I was working on a series of sport art works, in a technique I had developed for the Tour de France in July this year (2011). My father, with his 86 years, being a huge fan of the internet, went at once to have a look at my gallery online, and called me back, telling me that he loved the style and that I should do some rugby themed paintings. He said, it is the Rugby World Cup in New Zealand right now, and he is getting up at 5 in the morning every time there is a game to follow it live. As I was young, I loved rugby, and hated football. I found rugby much more fascinating, with so much more action and diversity. Also, it’s a much tougher game, something for real men… well, then I moved to Germany, and they were more into football there. This is when I started gradually ‘changing the camps’. And then, much later, I fell in love with my English guy, one of those who are totally fanatical about football: no way I could ever mention rugby again! The result being that I have totally lost my relationship to rugby and am now a big football fan.. almost a hooligan even, at least psychologically.. you know the kind – wishing the mortal enemy -in our case Nottingham Forest- the worst things in the world, using all these nasty and ugly words the English language is full of… I LOVE IT! I was never allowed to use bad words when I was young, and never got used to it even later, even surrounded by people who used them all the time. But in football, my God, what a pleasure to swear and send the B*stards to Hell!

What a shame, in fact, considering that I was born in the South-West of France, where we are so famous for rugby! I do feel as if I am denying my origins…

Anyway, being the good daughter I am (what a lie!) I listened to my father and “played” some rugby, starting with the All Blacks. And because my father is really fascinated by them, especially when they perform their ritual Haka, I even tried to make an artwork featuring the Maori Haka… it was not that simple though…

I am not sure if I will do some more rugby, I am sure that my Dad would wish me to paint the French Rugby players… but I don’t know….I don’t really like our national Bleu/Blanc/Rouge (blue/white/red) colour combination, and I do need to love the colours of something when I should paint it… we will see…

These paintings are available directly online as Giclee prints in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting cards. Just click on the widgets below to access my FAA store

Art Prints

Photography Prints

And more generally you can see all the stuff I paint by going to my gallery “Miki’s Enchanted World”

Leave a Reply

