Monpazier in the Perigord

NEW…NEW…NEW…           Miki’s new artist’s website www.mikidegoodaboom.com           NEW…NEW…NEW…

Monpazier 01 – by Miki

Sometimes, when I need a creative break, I go back to my collection of travel sketches from recent years and work on them. Well, “work” is a too big a word. I simply refresh them a little bit, scan, photograph and publish them. I have a huge amount of unpublished works, or at least not published in a way which makes them available to the public. Travel sketches are an important part of my artistic work, probably because they are the most emotional ones, the ones to which I always associate wonderful memories. They are really attached to magic moments of my travelling life, and always when I go back to them, I start feeling quite nostalgic -which is certainly not a strong characteristic mark of me, as I never look towards the past- and above all, I feel like I want to go, to be on the road again.

My travel sketches are also important for my business life, people love to buy paintings from places where they have lived or been on their holidays. I am always glad when people in the world can relive great moments of their lives thanks to my art.

Recently I stumbled upon a series of sketches from the Perigord, which we visited for one week some years ago on our trip up to Scotland. We loved that part of France, and really, we need to go back there and explore it more fully. It is certainly worth a trip in itself.

Today I will present here sketches from the charming town Monpazier,  a commune in the Dordogne department in Aquitaine in southwest France.

Wikipedia:

“… Monpazier is an ancient bastide town from the 13th century. It was home to Eleanor of Aquitaine and Richard II of England for a time. Nearby is the Château du Biron and the Dordogne River….”

Monpazier 05 – by Miki

Typical houses from Monpazier….

Monpazier 03 – by Miki

All the sketches presented in this post are done on the site, in ink and pastel chalk. All  in my personal impressionist style:  when I say “Impressionist”, I don’t mean it in the traditional sense. I just mean that they are impressions of the places, not being a slave to details and not supposed to be accurate. They are much more the artistic representation of my emotional reactions and interpretations of the sites.

These paintings are available directly online as Giclee prints in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting cards. Just click on the widgets below to access my FAA store

Sell Art Online

Art Prints

Art Prints

And more generally you can see all the stuff I paint by going to my gallery “Miki’s Enchanted World”

Leave a Reply

