Art and Sports 09 – Boxing

Boxing 01 - by Miki

I was thinking about sports which could be appropriate for my new technique, the one developed this Summer to paint the Tour de France, and Kevin proposed that I try boxing. I was convinced immediately! Most people, who know me superficially, or only from photos, would ask:  how on earth can such a tiny, soft looking person  be inspired by that violent sport? Well, this is another aspect of my life which does not match at all my physical appearance, and contribute to my fame of being an “ALIEN”, kind of.

Fact is:

I am a green belt in kick boxing.

And I love kick boxing, Well, better said, I loved it. I stopped practising it some years ago, as my partner was worried for me. I first tried to convince him to do it with me, but he is a professional musician, you know, and as such he cannot run the risk of appearing on stage with broken teeth or nose, a blue eye, broken fingers or tibia, etc… Although this could look very rock ‘n roll I think! And concerning myself: a famous rock’n roller can’t allow himself to have a messed up chick.. at least not that kind of mess!!! 🙂 So I stopped my kick boxing career. abandoning the dream of a black belt around my delicate waist one day….

Of course he is right. Each kick boxing class or fight I attended ended in somebody, me or somebody else, being injured, sometimes heavily. I am an intelligent person, I can control my own force, I am disciplined, I am aware of all the dangers coming from all sides, especially when legs and arms and fists and feet are at work. But some people are not, they are there to get the hell out of them, and you can’t do anything against it: The best self protection technique and defensive attitude can’t impede some kicks finding their way to your sensitive parts…. This was all quite traumatic, and I hated it.

What I loved in kick boxing was the training itself. It involved the whole body and brain in an extreme and challenging way, more than any other sports I had ever practised. After each class I was always extremely exhausted, but felt fantastic, and also so proud of myself.

Then, to get the classes were always a hell of a performance. Sometimes I had to throw up afterwards, so excited I was, and this, although my body was very well trained, through other sports too like daily swimming. But you know what? I had many examinations in my life, and some of them very difficult, but I never felt so proud of myself as when I got a new kick boxing belt. By far not! I suppose the pride comes in proportion to the effort one has to invest….

Anyway, here is my first boxing painting. I like the result, so I might do some more soon.

This painting is available directly online as Giclee print in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting cards. Just click on the widgets below to access my FAA store

Art Prints

And more generally you can see all the stuff I paint by going to my gallery “Miki’s Enchanted World”

One Response to “Art and Sports 09 – Boxing”


Leave a Reply

