Sorbas in Spain

Sorbas 02 - by Miki

I have presented loads of travel sketches from many different countries in this blog , but if I remember well, I never published paintings from the town where I live (Turre) and the surrounding area here. I love to draw landscapes and townscapes, but as usual, although we live in a lovely little town with spectacular mountains and sea views, I have hardly ever painted it. But I did a few artworks featuring of some the neighbouring places.

Today I will bring you to Sorbas, a typical Spanish little town about 20 kilometres south of us,  a bit further away from the sea

Map of Sorbas in Spain

Unfortunately I don’t remember much about the place, except that there were plenty of painting motifs. I remember though that we were there on a market day, but it was quite near the end and there was only some small stalls left on the town square, and hardly anybody around. I still found the motif very nice and painted it on the sketch above, choosing some pale yellow light to increase the nostalgic atmosphere. In fact it is very representative of many rural Spanish towns which have been quite deserted by the youth. Although judging by the numbers mentioned in Wikipedia, the population has hardly changed in the last 10 years, about 2800 people. Well, perhaps it was deserted before…

The main part of the  town is built on a hill, hanging houses always being a very attractive motif for me. On the sketch below you can see Sorbas, the white townscape in the background, viewed from the main street leading to it

Sorbas 01 – by Miki

I seem to remember that I did more sketches that day, but I can’t find them any more. I need to go back there one day and paint again. It shouldn’t be a problem considering the distance, but as always, “close to home” seems so unreachable. I travel thousands and thousands of kilometres to see and paint beautiful places, forgetting the jewels we have here… it is a little bit like the story of Don Quijote and his Dulcinea, isn’t it ?

All sketches presented here have been painted on the site, in ink and pastel chalk.

These paintings are available directly online as Giclee print in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting cards. Just click on the widgets below to access my FAA store

Art Prints

Sell Art Online

And more generally you can see all the stuff I paint by going to my gallery “Miki’s Enchanted World”

3 Responses to “Sorbas in Spain”

  1. Turre in Spain « Infinity + some + 2 Says:

    […] sketch below was painted on our way to Sorbas, Turre being the white townscape in the […]

  2. Bosartis Says:

    Love spontaneous sketches as they instantly capture the “life” of of the minute – nice post.


Leave a Reply

