Turre in Spain

Turre 01 - by Miki

In my last post presenting you places where I have been travelling and sketching -in that case Sorbas- I mentioned that I had hardly painted Turre, where I actually live in Andalusia, Spain. It is not quite true. I found some sketches featuring Turre, although the town is more in the background, as a white silhouette.  Well, better than nothing actually, especially because Turre in silhouette is very nice,!. It is anyway nice to see where the town is situated, between the mountains and the sea.

Map of Turre, Andalusia, Spain

We are 4 kilometres away from the Mediterranean sea, and at the foot of the Cabrera mountain range. “It is built along the “Rio Aguas”, which by the way means “The River Waters”.  Typical Spanish: the only waters we see in that river is when we have some rare torrential rains, but most of the time the only things that flow along it are herds of goats and sheep wandering around! Very lovely though… 🙂

The sketch below was painted on our way to Sorbas, Turre being the white townscape in the background.

Turre 02 – by Miki

Like many of my travel sketches from that period (2007-2008), it is done in ink and pastel chalk. But I have also a watercolour interpretation of that scenery, Very different as you can see, but still the same place. Amazing in fact how the technique and the colours can give a totally different impression of a place!

Dawn in Turre - by Miki

And concerning watercolour, I also found  the following one. I can’t remember having painted it, neither where nor when. But on the painting itself, by the signature,  is written 2008, and behind I wrote “Turre”. So it is certainly some place I saw here, probably a lonely house somewhere at the outskirts of Turre. I quite like the painting, although it is perhaps not really representative of Spanish scenery. But does that really matter? Not to me!

And finally a piece called, “Dollhouse in turre”, inspired by a beautiful house very close to Turre, and a little girl whom I saw sitting there on the doorstep one day.

Doll House in Turre - by Miki

That painting was by the way, chosen for the cover of the August edition of our wonderful local magazine, “The Sentinella”. Always a big honour to be featured there! By the way The Sentinella appears every month as a printed edition (great quality by the way, worth collecting!), but also online.  Also because my partner, the great musician, artist and ranter  KEV MOORE,  is featured there every month, being the magazine cartoonist, and also having a regular column called “Want some Moore?”, where he sounds off about everything that gets on his nerves, and believe me, that’s a lot!🙂

The Sentinella – August Edition

These paintings are available directly online as Giclee print in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting cards. Just click on the widgets below to access my FAA store

Art Prints

Art Prints

Art Prints

Sell Art Online

Art Prints

And more generally you can see all the stuff I paint by going to my gallery “Miki’s Enchanted World”

2 Responses to “Turre in Spain”

  1. wrjones Says:

    I love these pastel colors. Don’t know why I’m drawn to them. I used to smoke a brand of cigarettes, “Vanity Fair” because they had pastel colored paper. Of course I didn’t smoke them while in the biker bars.

  2. Alejandro Campbell z Says:

    As a Women†s Studies major and a new gallery intern, I was particularly excited to experience and participate in the opening.


Leave a Reply

