Art and Sports 11 – Figure Skating

Figure skating 01 - by Miki

I am still on my sports arts journey, focussing on winter sports for the moment. And in order to paint winter themes I have to set my mind to a winter mood, to feel the cold and somehow romantic atmosphere. Well, we are in the middle of October, so I would say it is quite sensible to think about winter already. There was a time in my life -my Germany time-, when the winter could have started soon, And anyway, especially when I was living in Freiburg,  Switzerland being just around the corner, the snow was never very far away. But where I live now, in Andalusia, in the middle of the Almeria desert, it is not easy to think winter thoughts… although some might say,  I just need to stretch my mind to the Sierra Nevada, which is also not so far away…

Anyway, one of my favourite winter sports disciplines is figure skating on ice .I guess I will spend some time on this subject. I have started the series featuring couples skating, as it is what I most enjoy. I love the basic contrast between man and woman but still in search of unity and , the matching gear they put on are a delight for my eyes, In fact they all generally look like the perfect couples. Although I must say that some couples are veering away from that aesthetic perfection, typically when the guy is immense and the girl tiny, probably for the sake of easing the carrying and throwing. And call me old-fashioned, or  not liberated, but I don’t like it either when the girl looks like the guy , and inversely… In couples skating I especially love the increased tension through the double possibility of failure and the search for harmony and coordination. These guys really have many parameters to master to give a good show and achieve a high ranking.. what a performance really!

Now some words about painting figure skating. It is not as easy as I thought, perhaps because it is closer to dancing than to traditional sport, especially through the elegance and the general body attitudes in search of drama or fake smiles!  I would say it is not easy to escape the danger of kitsch, or at least not to cross the borderline between art and kitsch. When I think about it, I don’t understand why I love figure skating so much. Of course I love dancing, I love skating, but generally I don’t like mixing tastes.. it is like when we eat waffles here: Kevin loves to put chocolate AND strawberry syrup on them, and I can’t stand it, both tastes killing each other: what a sin! Or like in painting, mix too many colours and you get an ugly grey. I know, I am digressing here, figure skating is not at all like that, and yet, as I stated painting it, I felt the danger very clearly….

Figure skating 02 – by Miki

I won’t say anything about the results. As I always state: it is not up to me to judge my work.

I will just say one thing: I will persevere!

These paintings are available directly online as Giclee print in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting cards. Just click on the widgets below to access my FAA store

Art Prints

Art Prints

And more generally you can see all the stuff I paint by going to my gallery “Miki’s Enchanted World”

One Response to “Art and Sports 11 – Figure Skating”

  1. wrjones Says:

    Great action paintings! Hope you and Kevin are having a fine Autumn.


Leave a Reply

