Trip to Morocco 01

Old and Lonely in Morocco 01 - by Miki

You know, every year it is the same thing. Christmas comes and one has to spend these special days with the family. Well, I love to spend time with my family, and especially with my parents, but somehow, it is always the same procedure. To be more precise: lots of great food, for hours and hours and hours! But now and then I have a craving for another kind of food, not so much for a feast for the tummy but a feast for my eyes! I am definitely not one of these people who hate Christmas, on the contrary: I love it! As I was a child, Christmas was fantastic, our Papa Noel was doing a great job, and these moments marked me for life. So, this year -well, last year, 2011- we decided to have a very special Christmas, and coming back to celebrate just in time with the parents. We booked a ten day trip to Morocco. I had always wanted to go there, and especially to paint it. But well, I knew that 10 days were not enough, I do need more time and more room and comfort to paint, more than I can get travelling from hotel to hotel in a little rented car. But this trip was a test, I wanted to see if I like Morocco, and if yes, we would come back for a much longer time with our Boomobile (our motorhome, my atelier on wheels). Morocco is just across the Gibraltar channel from us, and we both, and the Boomobile, we always love a go on a ferry!

Anyway, as expected, we loved Morocco! But since we came back one month ago, I was caught in a whirl of other artistic activities connected to my profession (still am!) and I had no time to make some paintings, based on the photos I took there. I just published photos from the trip in my FAA gallery, for me, the lazy way to make art🙂

But now, eventually,  I have taken time again, and grasped my brushes. I guess I won’t do many though, painting from photos is not really my thing!

The first painting is of a lonely old man we saw in Ait-Ourir, not far from Marrakesh. A perfect motif for my series “My dear Old People”, featuring old people from around the world, alone or together. I don’t know if I did him justice, but he was so BEAUTIFUL! I am not sure what he was doing sitting there… simply resting perhaps.. or begging.. well, In Morocco at some point you stop asking yourself what people are doing sitting or laying on the ground, they do it everywhere and at any time of the day and night, probably waiting to see what the Gods will do with them next… Insh’allah!

Street Scene in Morocco - by Miki

This second painting is a scene from a market in a town where we stopped, on our way from Essaouira to Marrakesh. Certainly one of the most fascinating markets I have ever been too.. and I swear, we were the only tourists there! Which did not make my job as a photographer very easy, as I would have needed to be discreet. But I was one of the rare women there, with a baseball cap on my head instead of a veil, and my companion was an English Rocker with crazy long hair… needless to say we had hordes of children following us all around the market! And the adults looked at us as if we came from Mars!!!! Although really, creatures from Mars don’t look at all like us, at least their skin colour doesn’t, especially not when our skin had a lovely golden tan from the sunny days in Essaouira…. 🙂. I am still amazed that I survived that market, having often been spat at in other places in Morocco, even threatened with stones, when I was taking some photos…

These paintings are  available directly online as Giclee print in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting cards. Just click on the widgets below to access my FAA store

Sell Art Online

Art Prints

And more generally you can see all the stuff I paint by going to my gallery “Miki’s Enchanted World”. Just click -gently!- on my face.

2 Responses to “Trip to Morocco 01”

  1. ivdanu Says:

    Great watercolors, Miki! and you made me twice thinking of Delacroix (je ne sais pas pourquoi je t’écris en Anglais… ow, well, you did that too…). First, because he was one of your (maybe even our) ancestors artist who loved Marocco and the North of Africa and did great sketches and paintings inspired by the people and places there – just as you do) and second, because, conscient or not, you are citing partially his definition for a good painting (and a prefered definition of mine, very useful too), that is: ” a feast for your eyes! ” That’s what a good painting should be too, no matter the subject, style or technique: a feast for your eyes. And yours are, no doubt! Say hello to Kev for me, ok?

  2. Trip to Morocco 02 « Infinity + some + 2 Says:

    […] promised in my last post “Trip to Morocco 01″, I have created some more watercolour paintings from Morocco, focussing on the Moroccan markets. […]


Leave a Reply

