Trip to Morocco 03

Moroccan Market 04 - by Miki

I won’t have time to write many words today, we are about to hit the road again and I must pack.

So, here are some more scenes of our wanderings through the Moroccan markets. The donkeys are the main “vehicles” there, they are chiefly the ones which carry the sellers, the buyers and the goods to the markets, and back. Sometimes the poor things must go dozens of miles to reach the market, fully loaded with tons of people and stuff. They are gone the whole day, leaving at dawn and returning in the night. And this, just to make a few dinars. This is a life one can hardly imagine…

Moroccan Market 05 - by Miki

And of course, as with cars and trucks, when the donkeys are unloaded, they need to get out of the way, so in these markets there is donkeys parking… the first time we saw one, we thought all these donkeys were for sale, but we were soon told otherwise!

Moroccan Market 06 - by Miki

So, as I said, we are about to leave. Destination: Algarve, Portugal. First Kevin will rock for the BMW German bikers, and after the gig, we will go. This is surely the best way to get his adrenaline down after the gig! But don’t think twice, this is not a pleasure trip. This is serious stuff. Two of our (Derby County) football Academy lads, Mason Bennett and Will Hughes have been named in the England Under-17 squad for the Algarve Tournament in the first week of February. England will face Portugal on February 2, Holland on February 4 and France two days later. Being huge fans of these two boys and expecting a great deal from them (no pressure of course  :-)  ) we have decided to go and support them live, attending all three games. Last time I went to a football match, as far as I can remember, was about 30 years ago,when I lived in Goettingen, Germany, where I saw my adopted home team team playing against Schalke.

Needless to say I am quite excited about this trip!

I hope I will find some time to sketch between the games, as Portugal is one of my favourite sketching motifs! But my hands will be probably shaking from fear and excitement, so involved I have become in Derby football.  And these two lads, they are our future (again: no pressure!)

But back to business, even if it is not as serious as footie, by far! (The legendary Liverpool Manager Bill Shankly was famously quoted as saying “Football is not a matter of life and death – it is far more important than that”!) The paintings above are available directly online as Giclee print in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting cards. Just click on the widgets below to access my FAA store

Art Prints

Photography Prints

Art Prints

And more generally you can see all the stuff I paint by going to my gallery “Miki’s Enchanted World”. Just click -gently!- on my face.

2 Responses to “Trip to Morocco 03”

  1. Wibi Udayana Says:

    Very beautiful artworks! Really captured the essence of Morocco!

  2. Still Life in Albufeira « Infinity + some + 2 Says:

    […] I announced  in one of my last posts, we were recently in Portugal to watch and support our under-17 National football team playing in […]


Leave a Reply

