Still Life in Albufeira 01

Still Life in Albufeira in Portugal 01

As I announced  in one of my last posts, we were recently in Portugal to watch and support our under-17 National football team playing in the 2012 Algarve Tournament. And of course we were especially interested in two of the lads, Mason Bennett and Will Hughes, playing usually for Derby County, our all time favourite team in the English League. Perhaps not the best team – at least not yet  :-)  – but surely with one of the most honest and likeable managers Nigel Clough, son of the famous Brian Clough!

Well, the Kids did a great job,  England won the Tournament and one of our two Derby players even scored a goal. We were over the moon! I wished our Derby players had scored yesterday evening too, in the Championship… I hate that they they lost against Reading, spoiling my so far so wonderful Valentines Day!

Now the games took place at different stadiums all over the Algarve, and we had to travel a lot. Apart from that, it was freezing there, like never before, at least not in my lifetime! No much chance really to make some sketches on-site. But I still wanted to remember that wonderful little trip in some paintings, somehow. I always do it. For me travelling is painting, and I can’t really deal with having been somewhere without having some painted memory of it.

So, I just made this watercolour, inspired by a wonderful statue of a fisherman I saw in Albufeira. It was not on the beach, but in a town square, not far from the beach though. And in fact there were many more figures involved in that “still life”, and if I can find the time, I will try to make another painting where one can see them all. They are surely worth it! I am not generally a big fan of statues and sculptures, but the Portuguese have a very playful and creative way with that particular artform. And one can see them in many places, outside, in town squares, on roundabouts, etc. Much more interesting than to see them in museums… it makes them look almost alive!

For those who don’t know where Albufeira is, I attach a Google map

Albufeira in Portugal

The painting above is available directly online as Giclee print in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting cards. Just click on the widgets below to access my FAA store

Photography Prints

If Portugal interests you, you can see many of the sketches and paintings I did there on some different trips. Just click on the image below and you will enter my Portugal Gallery

Portugal Gallery - by Miki

And more generally you can see ALL THE STUFF I paint by going to my gallery “Miki’s Enchanted World”. Just click -gently!- on my face.

One Response to “Still Life in Albufeira 01”

  1. Still Life in Albufeira 02 « Infinity + some + 2 Says:

    […] I wrote yesterday that I might do another watercolour painting based on the wonderful sculpture I saw in Albufeira, Portugal during our last trip there early in February 2012. Well, I did make an effort and here it is. All the persons featured in the painting were part of the sculpture, except the fish in front of the dog, and also the fish in the hands of the woman. The woman was holding something, but I don’t remember what it was! So, I gave her a fish too, like the dog… I just hope I won’t get any hassle from the feminists!   […]


Leave a Reply

