Lidl Love

Perhaps you have noticed (and if you haven’t, let me tell you: then you are in big love trouble!): some days ago it was Valentines Day!

Now me, I am not one of these purists who reject this celebration, and all the other ones like Christmas, Easter, Mother’s Day, etc too, moaning that this has all become so commercial and so on. Me, I love Valentines Day! To start with, if it was me, I would have Valentines every day! Being in a wonderful relationship I would love to be given official permission to scream it all the time to the entire world. But apart from that, I love all the gifts I get from my English rocker. And this year it was just FAB!

The day started with a painting which I found on my computer keyboard as I got up, full of hearts and including the words “Be My Valentine”. Well, this alone would have been enough to make my day. But then, later on, he went out under the pretext of looking for some books and came back with a big box of chocolates. He told me that his Auntie used to work in the factory where these chocolates are made (Thornton’s)and always came home with huge bags of mis-shapes. Great stuff, I must say, although I am generally not a fan of English chocolate! But these indeed taste like a really delicious Auntie!  🙂

Then he took me out for dinner to our local Indian restaurant and it was  NAN! (I just decided to use this word to describe how tasty a good Indian meal is… sounds great and adequate to my ears!)

But then came the most beautiful surprise of all time. Late in the evening, at a time when I was quite depressed because our football team had lost, he gave me a beautifully wrapped box. You might not know it, but we are both huge fans of coffee mugs, and never miss an occasion to find some new, wherever we are. Well, I opened the box and found these two incredibly cute mugs which I could not resist to paint today.

Love Mugs - Watercolour painting by Miki

I really could not believe my eyes. Simply perfect and so very ‘Valentines!’ For artistic reasons, I painted the mugs in different sizes (better for the composition) but they both have the same height, and HERS cuddles herself exactly in HIS with her concave recess… and all these lovely drawings of cat, dog, fish skeletons and bones.. and all these hearts.. and all these cute words.. and these amazing heart-shaped handles

I asked him where he did find such mugs, knowing how difficult it is in our Andalusian desert to find such special stuff.

“LIDL!”

UNBELIEVABLE! Now I really want to thank the Lidl chain, a discount supermarket chain based in Germany that operates over 10,000 stores across Europe. And I swear I don’t get paid for this super advertising I am doing here! But I must say that they have put on the Valentines market a product which made me incredibly happy, and probably many others around Europe, and at such a cheap price! As I told Kevin that I would write a post about it, he became very pale in his face and asked”

“Won’t it make me look bad?”

Well, I don’t care, and he shouldn’t either. If some snob people out there think that it is a big shame to buy from Lidl (and there are many, I know… although I have seen some of them secretly going to Lidl!!!!), then it is their problem. My love mugs are the cutest thing ever, and the most beautiful Valentines gift I have ever had! I hope my watercolour painting does them justice.

If you have missed that amazing deal at Lidl, you can still get these mugs: they are available directly online as Giclee print in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting cards. Not as cheap as by Lidl though, sorry! Just click on the widgets below to access my FAA store

Photography Prints

If you are interested in seeing more of my Coffee Mugs art, please click on the image below

Coffee and Cafe Art Gallery - by Miki

And more generally you can see ALL THE STUFF I paint by going to my gallery “Miki’s Enchanted World”. Just click -gently!- on my face.

2 Responses to “Lidl Love”

  1. I Wish I was Pink « Infinity + some + 2 Says:

    […] by my last Love Mug painting, Today I decided to make some more art work for my series “Coffee […]

  2. Com’on Bear on Bourbon « Infinity + some + 2 Says:

    […] Just click -gently!- on my face. By the way this photo was taken on Valentine’s evening 2012, I wrote about it some days ago! Miki's Enchanted World Share this:FacebookTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to […]


Leave a Reply

