The Clowns of My Heart

Leo Sayer in “The Show Must Go On” – Watercolour painting by Miki

I am still working on my last painting trip to Cyprus and Crete material, but today I will make a little break and show you something else.

The other day I published in my “Portraits for Life” blog, entirely dedicated to my portraits art,  a painting of the English musician and song writer Leo Sayer performing as a clown in “The Show Must go On”. Doing that I finally treated myself to something I have been meaning to do for a long time:

painting clowns!

But a sadistic little voice  in my head always told me that paintings of clowns are kitschy. Of course, I don’t want to be classified as a kitsch artist,  but then suddenly the strong voice of the enfant terrible within me rebelled:

” What do you care what people think? If you fancy painting clowns, paint clowns!”

I do care what people think… anybody saying he or she does not is lying to him-/herself. But there are moments when my desires are stronger, and this is the case. A quick consultation with my art adviser Kev Moore convinced me that I should do it. He is a great adviser you know, he would never go against my desires!🙂

Anyway, whatever you think, it is decided now: I will make a clowns series, and paint clowns until I can’t see them any more! I don’t know yet which clowns they will be, but some of them will certainly be internationally  famous. I will go with my spontaneous ideas, and perhaps with Kevin’s,  and even  if somebody comes to me with a good clown idea, I might go for it if it inspires me! So don’t hesitate to contact me if you fancy seeing a painting of your favourite clown by the Big Kitsch Artist Miki!

But for now, after Leo Sayer, here is my next one from the music world

David Bowie in Ashes to Ashes – Watercolour painting by Miki

By the way this came from Kevin, who is a big fan from David Bowie… and so am I!

These paintings are available directly online as Giclee print in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting cards. Just click on the widget below to access my FAA Gallery

Photography Prints

Art Prints

One Response to “The Clowns of My Heart”


Leave a Reply

