A New Fantascape: Coup de Foudre

Today I eventually painted a new Fantascape, from this series where trees take human form and start to interact with each other in rather dramatic ways. If you want to know more about the story of the Fantascapes, please go to the Fantascapes Gallery, it is explained there.

But this special Fantascape today has another story. Some months ago I was contacted by Trey Knight, who wrote

“Hello Miki,

I wanted to reach out to you. I recently came across your roller skating paintings and it struct me they are very familiar. Do you know which team you painted? The painting of the one arm trick/flipping the women looks like the final trick in our freedance competition. It was a Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers inspired piece dressed in black tux tailcoat and she was in peach crystals and ostrich feathers.😉

The yellow looks familiar as well because we had a lemon yellow compulsory tux/dress one year as well.

My name is Trey… My partner Kyoko Harada were the world dance champions in roller skating in 1995.

I could be mistaken but they do seem very familiar.

All the best and love all your paintings!!

love life
Trey Knight”

And indeed, it was him and his partner whom I painted on the two roller skating paintings. The painting below is one of them.

I was extremely pleased to meet him, and we had a very pleasant email exchange. At some point he sent me some photos and links to videos presenting his actual work. The best would be to go and have a look by yourself at Stilt World. He said, it might inspire me to some new painting.

And in fact, when I looked at his people on stilts, and especially his Amphibians, it strongly reminded me of my Tree People. And since then I wanted to make some new Fantascape work based on the Amphibians. So, this is the first one. I called it “Coup de Foudre”, as I couldn’t find any appropriate English translation. It French it means that you are struck by a lightning bolt of love. I think the closest thing in English is “love at first sight”, but really it does not convey the supernatural power of the Coup de Foudre. Don’t English people fall in love that way? I do!

The above paintings are currently available as Giclee prints in many dimensions, on paper and canvas, as well as greeting cards. Just click on the paintings above to access our shops online.

The Giclee prints from the above mentioned Online shop are manufactered in the USA and sent directly to the client from there. For personal or financial reasons it might not be appropriate for everybody to order their prints in the USA. Also, you might prefer to purchase my Giclee prints hand-signed. If so, you can alternatively order directly from me. Simply contact me indicating in which size. Go to Goodaboom Boutique to see a guideline of pricing for different dimensions.

We also sell A3 posters (297mm x 420mm) as high quality digital prints on a Heavyweight White 350gsm paper, each packed in cello with card stiffener.

Poster Price: 50 euros.

They are a great alternative to the Giclee prints, to a more affordable price.

(the price does not include packing&shipping)

Leave a Reply

