Painting in Saint-Bertrand de Comminges – Part 2

My last post in this diary was already about painting in Saint Bertrand de Comminges. But I was in a great painting mood during these days, so I did a lot sketches and paintings which, I think, are worth a second post. And the umbrellas having been the stars of that last post, I will start with the following watercolour painting of a shepherd under his umbrella.

I love this painting! It is really rare for me to make such comments about one of my own artworks, but I must honestly admit that this one is deeply charming to me. I did it fast, really fast, giving only a quite vague impression of all the elements. You probably haven’t seen them yet, but there are some sheep around the shepherd, white holes in the surrounding nature of herbs, bushes and trees. I love the freshness of this sketch, the impression of sun and rain at the same time, the relaxed position of the shepherd, the ghostly sheep and the top of the black umbrella shining so white in the wet light… I really feel that I was inspired as I did it! Well, as it often happens, people won’t probably see why I am so complimentary about that painting, the tastes between an artist and his actual ‘fans’ being often diametrically opposed… an interesting point by the way, but it is another story and I might do a post about it one day.

It was an idea of Kevin’s in fact. I was telling him how much I loved the scene as I saw it, standing there under the rain and staring, getting wetter and wetter, but too much under the bucolic charm to be bothered. He simply said:

Paint it!

I first thought, I couldn’t do it, too difficult, too transparent somehow, ethereal even. But I did it, from memory, about an hour after having seen it. And probably fast enough to not be disturbed by doubts if I really should try it!

The shepherd was a really cool guy. I had seen him arriving about 1 hour earlier, driving in his 4×4 at the slowest speed behind his herd of sheep walking under the rain and guided by his dog. He parked his 4×4 where we were parked, stepped out of his car, opened his umbrella and followed his herd to the next field close to the parking. Quite the easy job, I would say, no wonder he looked so relaxed!

I remember Kevin looking at this painting above on the site, and then looking around us to the houses and also up the hill to the village, trying to identify what he saw on my painting. He could not. The reason was that I had chosen a very small part of the townscape up there, in fact just a façade with some trees and bushes in front, quite far away, and I had isolated it from the rest of the town. The result being that on the painting it looked like it was really close, as if I had zoomed it… a trick I often use. And with which I trick myself sometimes, as when I came back home here, I was first not able to identify where that painting had been done, it was Kevin who had to remind me!

The street scene below was in the upper town itself. I was seduced by the little house with the orange façade.Well, I can’t swear it was really that bold orange, but it is probably how it looked like to me, as a contrast to the surroundings.

When one looks at these sketches from Saint Bertrand de Comminges, it is hard to believe that they have been done on a very rainy, grey day. But I can’t resist to put colours everywhere when I paint. It was difficult enough to paint a sky not totally blue! And I also tend to add some flowers to the motifs when there are none or not enough… Let us consider them as a gift from me to the town- and landscapes: it is normal, isn’t it, to give thank withs flowers for having being a guest in a lovely place?

A last one for now, a sight of the lower village viewed from the upper part, and painted on our way down to the Boomobile. I guess many villages in that region look the same seen from above!

I always loved to paint “roofscapes”, series of roofs from above surrounded by trees, fields and mountains. Not an easy theme though, but I like the challenge.

I am done with that place now, the rain has not stopped once second, so it is really time to leave. My next painting stop will be in Saint-Girons, in the department of Ariège.

These land- and townscapes, as well as many others from Saint Bertrand de Comminges and France, are currently available as Giclee prints in different dimensions, on paper, canvas and metal, as well as greeting cards. Just click on the painting above to access my shop online.

The Giclee prints from the above mentioned Online shop are manufactured in the USA and sent directly to the client from there. For personal or financial reasons it might not be appropriate for everybody to order their prints in the USA. Also, you might prefer to purchase my Giclee prints hand-signed. If so, you can alternatively order directly from me. Simply contact me indicating in which size. Go to Goodaboom Boutique to see a guideline of pricing for different dimensions.

I also sell A3 posters (297mm x 420mm) as high quality digital prints on a Heavyweight White 350gsm paper, each packed in cello with card stiffener.

Poster Price: 50 euros.

They are a great alternative to the Giclee prints, to a more affordable price.

(the price does not include packing&shipping)

Sell Art Online

Sell Art Online

Photography Prints

Photography Prints

Leave a Reply

