A Kiss in Dublin

I have already published in this blog diverse new art works inspired by statues and sculptures seen in Dublin, Ireland, during my last painting trip in April 2013. Here is my most recent one, which I just finished:

“The Kiss”

Now there are many kisses paintings in the world, the most famous and one of my favourite ones being by Gustav Klimt. In cases like this, I always wonder if it is worth adding another piece to a large collection, asking myself what is the point and if I shouldn’t rather use my creative energy in painting something nobody else painted… but I loved that statue, and I simply could not resist!

Just browsing the net to find out who the sculptor is, I found this wonderful review:

“… Rowan Gillespie’s artwork is scattered all around the city. He is an international renowned sculptor and a lot of his work is made in Blackrock Dublin.

This is probably my favourite sculpture of his and stands opposite the National Concert Hall. It’s so romantic to me! Yes I am a softie, but there is something magical about it. A piece of human warmth cast in bronze situated in an impersonal part of the city. It just reminds you of what is important and lasts beyond the materialism.

Although the people having a fag break outside their office looked at me like a mentalist as I stood there admiring it. So if you don’t mind looking a bit daft, have a gander down to it and a stare!..”

The statue itself features the two lovers in full length. What one cannot see on the painting is that the woman is standing on her tiptoes to be able to reach the man’s mouth, which one can perhaps guess, seeing how much she has to extend her neck! A wonderful, very emotional position…

The painting presented in this post is available directly online as Giclee print in many different dimensions, on paper, canvas or metal, and also as greeting cards. Please click on the widget below to access my Shopping Cart Online. 

Art Prints

The Giclee prints from the above mentioned Online shop are manufactured in the USA and sent directly to the client from there. For personal or financial reasons it might not be appropriate for everybody to order their prints in the USA. Also, you might prefer to purchase my Giclee prints hand-signed. If so, you can alternatively order directly from me. Simply contact me indicating which painting you are interested in and in which size. Go to Goodaboom Boutique to see a guideline of pricing for different dimensions.

I also sell A3 posters (297mm x 420mm) as high quality digital prints on a Heavyweight White 350gsm paper, each packed in cello with card stiffner.

Poster Price: 50 euros.

They are a great alternative to the Giclee prints, to a more affordable price.

(the prices for the Giclee prints and posters are not including packing&shipping)

Hand-signed prints incur a surcharge of 30 euros.

Leave a Reply

