Willie Nelson

Portraits of the American Country Singer and Guitarist

I will have to make a confession here, something I am really not proud of: I knew nothing about Willie Nelson until very recently. And when I say nothing, I mean that I didn’t even know about his existence!

In my defence I will state that my musical culture is 95% the responsibility of my partner, the English rock musician Kev Moore. And him being a passionate rocker, country music is not exactly his thing: wouldn’t look cool anyway if he liked it! And this is how it came to be that Willie Nelson was never presented to me. How then did I come to meet him? Well, in the most unexpected way: I was watching an episode of the USA TV show “Monk” the other day, the episode called “Mr Monk and The Red-Headed Stranger “. There, Monk’s favourite singer, Willie Nelson, playing himself, was wrongly suspected of murdering his tour manager, and of course Monk stepped in to clear his name. To thank him, at the end of the episode, Willie sang a song at the graveside of Mr Monk’s late wife. A very touching scene! Anyway I loved that guy, the way he looked, acted, and more than anything: the way he sang and played guitar: a perfect model for my music art.

I browsed around a little bit in Youtube to see him performing and enjoyed immensely what I saw. I was especially touched by a performance he did with Keith Richards, from the Rolling Stones, Keith playing the acoustic guitar and singing too. The proof, Mr Moore, that liking Willie Nelson is not uncool at all, not even for a rocker!

As I had finished the above artwork, I thought that it would also make a nice portrait of Willie Nelson alone. So I cut Keith Richards away , and did some work in Photoshop, playing around with the colours. This is how Willie suddenly got a blue skin: suits him well I would say!

The paintings of Willie Nelson presented in this gallery, and many more musician portraits, are available directly online as Giclee print in many different dimensions, on paper or canvas, and also as greeting cards, in my

FAA Gallery

The Giclee prints from the above mentioned Online shop are manufactured in the USA and sent directly to the client from there. For personal or financial reasons it might not be appropriate for everybody to order their prints in the USA. Also, you might prefer to purchase my Giclee prints hand-signed. If so, you can alternatively order directly from me. Simply contact me indicating which painting you are interested in and in which size. Go to

Goodaboom Boutique

to see a guideline of pricing for different dimensions.